Recognising and Celebrating the Achievers

#WomenAcesOfManufacturing #Awards #AdityaBirlaGroup #WomenLeaders

Niranjan Mudholkar

Find out who took home the honours at the Women Aces of Manufacturing Awards Programme 2022-23

January 2023: The grand finale of the maiden edition of the Women Aces of Manufacturing initiative concluded successfully on 18 January 2023. Presented by the Aditya Birla Group, the Women Aces of Manufacturing Conference & Awards Programme 2022-23 was supported by ‘Association Partner’ – MeitY-NASSCOM Centre of Excellence and by ‘Knowledge Partners’ CMTI - Central Manufacturing Technology Institute, Centre for Industry 4.0 (C4i4) Lab as well as the IIT Indore DRISHTI CPS Foundation. This initiative, which aims at celebrating Women in Manufacturing, is Powered by Pro MFG Media.

Vigorous Conversation about the Way Ahead

The Women Aces of Manufacturing programme was launched in July 2022 with the aim of inspiring more women to join the industry and also to start a vigorous conversation about the way ahead. Of course, it is equally important for women to understand that they can also build fulfilling and meaningful careers in the manufacturing industry. So, if the future of manufacturing has to be growth oriented, it needs to be both diverse and inclusive. That’s why, the Women Aces of Manufacturing platform also deliberated on the how and the why of encouraging more women professionals on the shop floor. It was done through an exchange of ideas, insights and information throughout the last seven months (July 2022 to January 2023). The journey included interviews with leaders, articles, fireside chats, virtual round tables, webinars, a National Quiz programme and posts on social media platforms. The objective was to create awareness and to involve all the stakeholders in this journey. Do visit the Women Aces of Manufacturing section on the Pro MFG Media website to access some of the interesting coverage (

The Conference

During the grand finale, a stimulating Conference session was held in the first half. This session included two insightful panel discussions. In the first panel discussion of the day, three leaders spoke about ‘Accelerating Ahead: Harnessing the Power of a New Age Workforce for Achieving Manufacturing Excellence’. This panel, which was moderated by Manish Kulkarni, Director, Pro MFG Media, included Dr. S. Devarajan, Sr. Vice President, Advanced Manufacturing, TVS Motor Company, Srividya Govindarajan, Site Director, Hindustan Unilever Limited and Sinchana Nooji, Head - Project Management Office, Deepak Group, as the panellists.

The second panel focussed on “Taking the Lead: A Panel Discussion focussed on Leadership that enables Transformation”. Moderated by Niranjan Mudholkar, Editorial Director, Pro MFG Media, it included Beena Kothadia, Executive Plant Director, GE, Jyothi Bhakta, Head of Process and Standards, Continental, and Sujata Tilak, Managing Director, Ascent Intellimation, as the speakers.

Recognising and Celebrating the Achievers

The Women Aces of Manufacturing initiative is all about highlighting the significance of nurturing a diverse and inclusive workforce in the manufacturing industry by recognising and celebrating the industry achievers. We are all aware that the Indian manufacturing industry is extremely diverse and complex. To give a fair representation to various industry sectors and segments, the organizers decided that there will be not one but three winners in each category. Of course, there is no ranking amongst these winners and they all stand equally on the platform.

So, join us in congratulating as well as celebrating the winners of the maiden edition of the Women Aces of Manufacturing Awards.

The Winners

Young Achievers of the Year 2022-23

Anu Tripathi, Tata Chemicals
Apoorva Datir Tiwari, Ola Electric
Suryakala Nair, Huntsman International Ltd.

Special Commendation Award 2022-23 for Young Achievers
Sushri Mund, MG Motor India Pvt Ltd
Khushbu Kumari, Wabtec Locomotive Pvt. Limited
Mayuri M. Vasmatkar, Mahle Anand Thermal Systems
Pallavi Namdeo Margale, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd- Auto Division
Bhakti Yatin Choudhary, Tata Steel Ltd.
Bhawna Sawdia, JSW

Emerging Leaders of the Year 2022-23
M. Kundavai, Caterpillar India Private Limited
Sinchana Nooji, Deepak Group
Sakthi. M.S, ZF India

Innovators of the Year 2022-23
Seema Chopra, Boeing India
Divya Kurapati, N Space Tech India Private Limited
Neha Sharma, Vijnata Private Limited

Division Heads of the Year 2022-23
Chaitra S, Wabtec Corporation (Faiveley Transport Rail Technologies India Pvt. Ltd.)
Mitali Dutta, Carborundum Universal Ltd.
Mhatardeo Navnath Kedar, GKN Fokker Elmo India Private Limited

Mentors of the Year 2022-23
Dr. S. Devarajan, TVS Motor Company
Sandhya Pande, Philips GBS Pvt Ltd India (Pune)
Dr. Kishora Shetty, Boeing India

Innovative Plants of the Year 2022-23
Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles Limited, Chikhali (Pune)
GKN Fokker Elmo India Pvt Ltd, Chakan (Pune)
Steelcase Asia Pacific Holding India Private Limited, Chakan (Pune)

Leaders of the Year 2022-23
Srividya Govindarajan, Hindustan Unilever Ltd
Lakshmi Umapathy, Caterpillar India Private Limited
Sneha Raju Israni, Mahle Anand Thermal system Pvt. Ltd.